Raw Milk Road Trip!

by Ann Marie Michaels on June 21, 2008

Print Friendly

I saw my girlfriend, Annie this morning at the farmer’s market and we decided to take a road trip up to Sacramento on Tuesday. We’re going to the State Capitol Building for the raw milk hearing. (Now I just have to convince Seth. I intend to ply him with French Fries, which I’m making tonight.)

We’re going to back the kids (3 of them) into an SUV with a cooler at 5 am so we can make it in time to show our support. Our kids are all on Organic Pastures raw milk formula — we need it to remain legal in California!

If you live in California and there’s any way you can make it to Sacramento on Tuesday, please join us! If not, make phone calls to your representatives (see below).

Here’s more information from CREMA (California Real Milk Association):

This is a critical hearing and your attendance and phone calls will make a difference!

SB201- The Fresh Raw Milk Act of 2008, will be heard by the Assembly Health Committee on Tuesday, June 24th, 1:30 p.m. in room 4202 of the State Capitol. Your enthusiastic support and attendance is critical to getting the votes we need to pass this Committee. The bill will also be heard by the Assembly Agriculture Committee on Wednesday, June 25th at approximately 1:00 p.m.

Your calls to the people below will help us stand up to FDA and CDFA pressure at the Health Committee hearing!

PHONES MUST BE RINGING OFF THE HOOK. Please Begin Calling Now! Contact the following Health Committee members and tell them you want SB201 passed!

Tell them:

SB 201 SHOULD BE PASSED BECAUSE IT:

  • requires a HACCP (pronounced “Hassup”) food safety plan for individual raw milk producers. This is the very best food safety system in the world.
  • requires intensive testing of human pathogens at least twice per week. AB 1735 did not require pathogen testing.
  • closes loopholes so that raw milk producers must not ever outsource production of raw milk from other dairies that do not follow the same strict standards.

 

Here’s who to call:

Mervyn M. Dymally – Chair
Dem-52 (916) 319-2052
Fax -319-2152
Assemblymember.dymally@assembly.ca.gov

Mary Hayashi
Dem-18 (916) 319-2018
Fax -319-2118
Assemblymember.Hayashi@assembly.ca.gov

Alan Nakanishi – Vice Chair
Rep-10 (916) 319-2010
Fax -319-2110
Assemblymember.nakanishi@assembly.ca.gov

Edward P. Hernandez
Dem-57 (916) 319-2057
Fax -319-2157
Assemblymember.Hernandez@assembly.ca.gov

Patty Berg
Dem-1 (916) 319-2001
Fax -319-2101
Assemblymember.berg@assembly.ca.gov

Bob Huff
Rep-60 (916) 319-2060
Fax -319-2160
Assemblymember.huff@assembly.ca.gov

Wilmer Amina Carter
Dem-62 (916) 319-2062
Fax -319-2162
Assemblymember.Carter@assembly.ca.gov

Dave Jones
Dem-9 (916) 319-2009
Fax -319-2109
Assemblymember.jones@assembly.ca.gov

Hector De La Torre
Dem-50 (916) 319-2050
Fax -319-2150
Assemblymember.DeLaTorre@assembly.ca.gov

Sally J. Lieber
Dem-22 (916) 319-2022
Fax -319-2122
Assemblywoman.lieber@assembly.ca.gov

Kevin de Leon
Dem-45 (916) 319-2045
Fax -319-2145
Assemblymember.deLeon@assembly.ca.gov

Fiona Ma
Dem-12 (916) 319-2012
Fax -319-2112
Assemblymember.Ma@assembly.ca.gov

Bill Emmerson
Rep-63 (916) 319-2063
Fax -319-2163
Assemblymember.emmerson@assembly.ca.gov

Mary Salas
Dem-79 (916) 319-2079
Fax -319-2179
Assemblymember.Salas@assembly.ca.gov

Ted Gaines
Rep-4 (916) 319-2004
Fax -319-2104
Assemblymember.Gaines@assembly.ca.gov

Audra Strickland
Rep-37 (916) 319-2037
Fax -319-2137
Assemblymember.strickland@assembly.ca.gov

Loni Hancock
Dem-14 (916) 319-2014
Fax -319-2114
Assemblymember.hancock@assembly.ca.gov

Read more about SB 201 here.

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: